SE honors Top Ten Freshmen with ceremony

Back row, left to right: Associate Dean Tim Boatmun, President Larry Minks, Lindsey Ludwick, Demi Wilkerson, Garrett Shoemake, Janee Slawson, Interim Vice President for Academic Affairs Doug McMillan and SGA President Matthew Heggy. Front Row, left to right: Marissa Musgrove, Chikako Nishina-Martin, Brea Jones, Hope Zachary and Madison Newton.

The Top 10 Freshmen for 2009 were honored Friday, Oct. 29 with an awards ceremony and reception in the Glen D. Johnson Student Union auditorium.

Seven students from Oklahoma and three from Texas were selected from more than 600 students. Four are involved with the President’s Leadership Class, four in the Honors Program, three with the Student Government Association, three with the True Blue Ambassadors, one with the Savage Storm Leaders program and one with the Savage Storm football team.

The group’s combined grade-point average is 3.718.

“These students are outstanding representatives of our University,” said Southeastern President Larry Minks. “Not only do they excel in the classroom, but they are active in campus life and in the community. I offer my sincere congratulations to these students – they are most deserving of this recognition.”

The honorees:

Brea Jones, Dickson, is a math education major, was a member of the Chorvettes Stageworks Company and involved with the Honors Psychology Community Service Committee. She is a member of the SE Math Club, the BCM Women’s Leadership Team and serves as a student teacher/tutor in the Learning Center, assisting students in math.

Lindsey Ludwick, Fort Worth, Texas, is a chemistry major. She was a member of the President’s Leadership Class and helped organize Parents’ Day, Homecoming and PLC Competition Day. She was elected to the executive board of Alpha Sigma Tau and held the position of risk management director. She was selected to serve as both Savage Storm Leader and True Blue Ambassador in spring of 2010.

Marissa Musgrove, Lone Grove, is a music education major. She was selected to perform with the SE Chorale, Symphonic Choir and the jazz ensemble, Cat 5. She was also named to the Oklahoma All-Collegiate Choir in her first year at SE. She serves as the SE chapter secretary for the Collegiate Music Educators National Convention and as a True Blue Ambassador.

Madison Newton, Durant, is majoring in pre-speech pathology with the goal of becoming a speech pathologist. She was elected to serve as a student senator and secretary for the Oklahoma Student Government Association. She was a floor leader in her residence hall and also a Savage Storm Leader.

Chikako Nishina-Martin, Mesquite, Texas, is a chemistry/pre-pharmacy major and active in the Honors Program. She was involved in Homecoming and Springfest, and was selected to serve as an Honors Retreat volunteer. She was named SE American Chemical Society chapter treasurer and now serves as secretary. She was selected as a True Blue Ambassador and lab assistant for the biological sciences department in the spring of 2010.

Logan Russell, Ardmore, is a communication major and a linebacker on the Savage Storm football team. He was a member of the President’s Leadership Class and actively involved in several recruiting events. He is a member of the SE Chorale. He participated in the MLK Day of Service project by reading to elementary students and was involved in several campus beautification projects.

Garrett Shoemake, Duncan, is a criminal justice major and a proud member of the Choctaw Nation. Representing the Honors Program, he won the 2009 Big Man on Campus event and was team captain for the Honors Advisory Council Springfest team. He received recognition for the top essay among all Honors freshmen and is a student senator, where he chairs the House Rules Committee. He currently tutors English, reading and math in the Learning Center.

Janee Slawson, Cyril, is majoring in business. She helped with Fall Family Fun Night at Northwest Heights Elementary School, Parents’ Day, President’s Leadership Class Competition Weekend and Speech Jam, where she placed third. She was an active member of the Student Programming Board, Fellowship of Christian Athletes and the Residence Hall Association. She serves as a student worker in the John Massey School of Business and was a member of the President’s Leadership Class.

Demi Wilkerson, Durant, is an English education major and an active member of the Student Government Association. She was involved in hosting the gubernatorial debate on the Southeastern campus and currently serves as SGA secretary. She is a member of the Honors Program and has volunteered with Families Feeding Families. She was named the Outstanding Sophomore English major by her academic department.

Hope Zachary, Gainesville, Texas, is a communication major and dance minor. As part of the Student Programming Board, she helped plan and run the Stress Free Zone and Safe Spring Break activities. She is a member of Sigma Sigma Sigma and serves as secretary and Panhellenic delegate. She was a member of the President’s Leadership Class and serves in the Office of University Recruitment where she often provides the first impression for incoming students and their families.